I wouldn’t even like to hazard a guess at how many blogs have been started worldwide over the past few days. As the clock struck midnight on January 1st 2014, countless New Year’s resolutions to document lives, ideas and inspirations were, I’m guessing, put into motion. Thanks to a Christmas gift of a Smart Phone or Tablet paired with some Social Media savviness, countless beginner bloggers must have flooded the Internet.
And I am one of them.
Blogging is something that I’ve been contemplating for a while, but it’s only now that I feel I have the time, energy, experience and ideas to make my blog interesting and purposeful! There are many reasons for me wanting to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, as it would seem!) and I hope that throughout the life of this blog to be able to explain them. 
The prime reason for this blog is my passion for fashion – I want to convey it to all through words and pictures. I’d like to admit to everyone that there are some days when I feel so proud with the look I’m wearing that I want to show it off. A blog is the perfect vehicle for this self appreciation! I hope my images and thoughts will bring style ideas to others. But, I’m by no means saying that my  appearance is perfect and emblematic of all that is in vogue, I hope that this blog will be illustrative of a learning curve for me, as my style evolves and improves. 
In this blog, I’m particularly aiming to convey how a vintage piece can contribute to the uniqueness of a look. It’s true that the parts of an outfit I receive the most complements on are those which are vintage. Their originality and evocation of nostalgia, particularly when combined with the modern day or on-trend, can have such impact. Therefore, I’m aiming for vintage pieces, particularly costume jewellery, to perpetuate most of the looks on this blog, whether formal or casual; for an event or for no reason in particular than just playing with fashion!

Now it’s time for me to set the wheels in motion. The next few posts will be dedicated to my winter holiday style. I visited Paris for New Year and put together a few looks that worked really well. I hope you think so too!

Gemma x

New Year’s Day Evening Meal
We enjoyed a lovely evening at Le Boeuf Sur Le Toit on New Year’s Day. This is the outfit I chose to wear:

 
Dress: French Connection Jacket: Sandro Tights: Falke Shoes: Topshop 
Scarf: Missoni Bag: Mulberry Bracelet: Vintage (copper embellished with faux opals, 1970s) Rings: Links and Vintage (topaz coloured rhinestone and faux rose gold, 1960s) Lipstick: Dolce and Gabbana cream lipstick in Lust

I enjoyed a smoked salmon starter, scallops for my main course and had a deconstructed lemon cheesecake for dessert. All the food was delicious and the live jazz pianist made the evening even more special. I loved the art deco interior and it gave me chance to put to use some of the filters on my iPhone 5s! For more information visit: http://www.boeufsurletoit.com/en/

 

